Tuesday, September 20, 2016

The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Review)

  • Series: The Bishop's Family (Book 2)
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Revell (May 3, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 080072321X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0800723217

  • The Stoltzfus family faces serious problems, both in the church and at home. Everyone in the community expects minister David Stoltzfus to fix things--fast. But David doesn't work fast. He prefers to wait for God to work in individual hearts. However, even he is left wondering if the solution to their most pressing problem might be a Quieting.

    When David's mother arrives, uninvited, more upheaval is in store. She has matchmaking plans for everyone in the family, including David and her eligible granddaughters--and especially for David's niece Abigail. When Abigail stumbles onto a curious connection during her genealogical research, it could help David solve one problem--but will it create another?

    Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher takes fans back to Stoney Ridge, delivering the twists, turns, and romance they adore.

    My Review:

    This is book two in the Bishops Family series. To be fully appreciated I think they need to be read in order. The first has the background on David, his family, and the church situation. There is a lot going on in this book. There are many characters and plots. The main plot is still concerning the church situation. David is the father of the Stoltzfus family and is a minister of an Amish church. One of the other church leaders is corrupt and leading the church astray. David is standing up to him as much as possible but it makes life hard on his family. The title of the book comes from when the Amish church has to away a leader's job. The big question throughout the book is will this happen and to who? David has a love interest in Birdy who is the sister to the corrupt church leader. His niece Abigail comes to visit and do research on her genealogy project. Her studies and relationship with Dane are the other focus of the book. I enjoyed reading this book even with the serious undertones of the church issues The characters and plot were well developed and interesting. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. Highly Recommended.

    Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author whose most recent novels include The Imposter, Anna's Crossing, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher

    Review copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    No comments:

    Classics Club Spin 18

    My Classics Club Spin List for August This is a hodgepodge of books left on my list I made in 2017 for the Classics Club. Tomorrow the clu...