Monday, December 5, 2016

Brittanie's Classics Club Reading List

I have decided to join something called The Classics Club. I have not been reading enough classics the past few years and I want to challenge myself to read more. My list has 100 books on it. The time limit is five years so starting 2017 and ending 2021. Some I have read before and its been so long I don't remember why I liked it so I want to reread and see if they are still favorites. I put in bold the ones that will be rereads for me. Some are books I never read in school but are wide read classics and I want to see what the fuss is about. Others are just books that the plots appealed to me. If you would like more information here is the link to the site.

Alcott, Louisa May: Jo’s Boys
Alcott, Louisa May: Little Men
Alcott, Louisa May: Little Women
Austen, Jane: Emma
Austen, Jane: Lady Susan
Austen, Jane: Mansfield Park
Austen, Jane: Northanger Abbey
Austen, Jane: Persuasion
Austen, Jane: Pride and Prejudice
Austen, Jane: Love and Friendship
Austen, Jane: Sense and Sensibility
Baker, Frank: Miss Hargreaves
Barrie, J.M.: Peter Pan
Baum, L. Frank: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Bradbury, Ray: Fahrenheit 451
Bradbury, Ray: The Martian Chronicles
Bronte, Charlotte: Jane Eyre
Bronte, Emily: Wuthering Heights
Burnett, Frances Hodgson: The Making of a Marchioness
Burnett, Frances Hodgson: The Secret Garden
Burney, Frances: Evelina
Burns, Olive: Cold Sassy Tree
Carroll, Lewis: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Cather, Willa: Death Comes for the Archbishop
Cather, Willa: My Antonia
Christie, Agatha: The Murder at the Vicarage
Collins, Wilkie: No Name
Collins, Wilkie: The Law and the Lady
Collins, Wilkie: The Woman in White
Connell, Evan: Mrs. Bridge
Dante: The Divine Comedy
de Cervantes, Miguel: Don Quixote
Defoe, Daniel: Robinson Crusoe
Dickens, Charles: David Copperfield
Dickens, Charles: A Christmas Carol
Dickens, Charles: Great Expectations
Dickens, Charles: Oliver Twist
Dickens, Charles: The Pickwick Papers
Dickens, Monica: Mariana
Dickens, Monica: The Winds of Heaven
Downes, Mollie Panter: Good Evening, Mrs. Craven
Doyle, Sir Arthur Conan: A Study in Scarlet
Dumas, Alexander: The Count of Monte Cristo
Du Maurier, Daphne: Rebecca
Eliot, George: Middlemarch
Ferguson, Rachel: The Bronte's Went to Woolworth
Fisher, Dorothy: The Home-Maker
Fitzgerald, F. Scott: This Side of Paradise
Fitzgerald, F. Scott: The Great Gatsby
Forster, E.M.: Room With a View
Gaskell, Elizabeth: Mary Barton
Gaskell, Elizabeth: Cranford
Gibbons, Stella: Cold Comfort Farm
Graham, Winston: Ross Poldark
Hemingway, Ernest: A Farewell to Arms
Hemingway, Ernest: For Whom the Bell Tolls
Hugo, Victor: The Hunchback of Notre Dame
Huxley, Aldous: Brave New World
Leroux, Gaston: The Phantom of Opera
Leverson, Ada: Love's Shadow
Lewis, Sinclair: Main Street
Mackail, Denis: Greenery Street
Mankowitz,Wolf: A Kid for Two Fartherlings
Montgomery, L M: The Golden Road
Montgomery, L M: The Story Girl
Montgomery, L M: Pat of Silver Bush
Montgomery, L M: Mistress Pat
Montgomery, L M: Further Chronicles of Avonlea
Montgomery, L M: Emily Climbs
Montgomery, L M: Emily of New Moon
Montgomery,L M: Emily's Quest
Montgomery, L M: Blue Castle
Montgomery, L M: Magic for Marigold
Montgomery, L M: The Road to Yesterday
Montgomery, L M: Anne of Green Gables
Montgomery, L M: Anne of Avonlea
Montgomery, L M: Anne of the Island
Montgomery, L M: Anne of Windy Populars
Montgomery, L M: Anne's House of Dreams
Montgomery, L M: Anne of Ingleside
Montgomery, L M: Rainbow Valley
Montgomery, L M: Rilla of Ingelside
Montgomery, L M: Chronicles of Avonlea
Pym, Barbara: Excellent Women
Stevenson, D E: Mrs. Tim of the Regiment
Stevenson, D E: Listening Valley
Stevenson, D E: Celia's House
Stevenson, D E: The Baker's Daughter
Stevenson, D E: Miss Buncle Married
Stevenson, D E: Miss Buncle's Book
Stevenson, D E: The Two Mrs. Abbotts
Stevenson, D E: The Young Clemetina
Stevenson, D E: The Four Graces
Swift, Jonathon: Gulliver’s Travels
Tolkein, J.R.R.: The Hobbit
Tzsu, Sun: The Art of War
Verne, Jules: Journey to the Center of the Earth
Wells, H G: The Time Machine
Welty, Eudora: The Optimist's Daughter
Whipple, Dorothy: Greenbanks

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson (Review)

  • Series: Prince Edward Island Dreams (Book 2)
  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Revell (October 18, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 080072450X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0800724504

  • Evocative Contemporary Romance Set in a Charming Inn on Beautiful Prince Edward Island
    In her kitchen at the Red Door Inn, executive chef Caden Holt is calm, collected, and competent. But when her boss asks her to show off their beautiful island to impress a visiting travel writer and save the inn, Caden is forced to face a world much bigger than her kitchen--and a man who makes her wish she was beautiful.

    Journalist Adam Jacobs is on a forced sabbatical on Prince Edward Island. He's also on assignment to uncover a story. Instead he's falling in love with the island's red shores and Caden's sweets.

    When Caden discovers Adam isn't who she thought he was, she realizes that the article he's writing could do more than ruin the inn's chances for survival--it might also break her heart.

    Readers will discover hope for the hurting, joy for the broken, and romance for the lonely at the enchanting Red Door Inn.

    My Review:

    This was a really sweet unique Christian romance book. I love the setting of Prince Edward Island. This is book two in the Prince Edward Island Dreams. The characters continue from book one so I recommend reading them in order. The main focus of this book is Caden and visitor Adam. Caden  worked at her father's bakery. She became friends with Marie in the first book and at the end Marie asked her to become the chef for the Red Door Inn. Caden is also very self conscious. The only place she is okay is in her kitchen. Adam is a guest at the Inn. He is there because he had a bad experience overseas as a journalist. His editor has a double purpose in sending him to the inn though. Adam invades her kitchen from the beginning. They have sparks from the beginning. Marie thinks Adam is there to write a story on them for a travel magazine so she asks Caden to show him around the Island and make him love them. The Inn is not doing good enough financially so it puts pressure on Caden. Caden and Adam hit it off from the start. The author did a good job developing the characters. There were interesting secondary characters. I could feel, see, and hear the descriptions. This book is going on my keeper shelf and I can't wait to read book three in the series. Recommended.

    By day Liz Johnson is a marketing manager for a Christian publisher. She finds time to write late at night and is a two-time ACFW Carol Award finalist. Liz makes her home in Nashville, TN, where she enjoys theater, exploring local music, and making frequent trips to Arizona to dote on her nieces and nephews. She loves stories of true love with happy endings and blogs about her adventures in writing at

    Review copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.