Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Anna's Crossing by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Review)

  • Series: Amish Beginnings
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Revell (March 3, 2015)
  • ISBN-13: 978-0800723194

Some endings are really beginnings . . . 

On a hot day in 1737 in Rotterdam, Anna König reluctantly sets foot on the Charming Nancy, a merchant ship that will carry her and her fellow Amish believers across the Atlantic to start a new life. As the only one in her community who can speak English, she feels compelled to go. But Anna is determined to complete this journey and return home--assuming she survives. She's heard horrific tales of ocean crossings and worse ones of what lay ahead in the New World. But fearfulness is something Anna has never known. 

Ship's carpenter Bairn resents the somber people--dubbed Peculiars by the deckhands--who fill the lower deck of the Charming Nancy. All Bairn wants to do is to put his lonely past behind him, but that irksome and lovely lass Anna and her people keep intruding on him.

Delays, storms, illness, and diminishing provisions test the mettle and patience of everyone on board. When Anna is caught in a life-threatening situation, Bairn makes a discovery that shakes his entire foundation. But has the revelation come too late?

My Review:

I have mixed feelings about this book. I did not really enjoy reading it although the topic was different than most Amish books. The majority of the book is set on the ship The Charming Nancy. It focuses on Anna Konig, an Amish woman, from Germany and the trip to America. I liked Anna ok but the plot moved a little slow due to the setting. Also there were a few things in it that I really did not care for in a Christian fiction book. I know the author did it to be authentic but I could have done without them like the pirate language and slave ship scene. Bairn and Anna start getting closer as the trip progressed. I like the relationship between them. There is a big twist at the end. I have read and loved all the author's other fiction series. Many readers love this one too. If you like Amish books and historical fiction then you might like this one. I will still read coming books.

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of The Letters, The Calling, the Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace.

Review copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Classics Club Spin 18

My Classics Club Spin List for August This is a hodgepodge of books left on my list I made in 2017 for the Classics Club. Tomorrow the clu...