Thursday, October 11, 2012

Life with Lily by Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher (Review)

  • Reading level: Ages 8 and up
  • Paperback: 288 pages

  • Publisher: Revell (October 1, 2012)

  • ISBN-13: 978-0800721329

  • About the book:

    For a child, every day is a thing of wonder. And for six-year-old Lily Lapp, every day is a new opportunity for blessings, laughter, family, and a touch of mischief. As she explores her world, goes to school, spends time with her family, and gets into a bit of trouble with her friends, Lily learns what it means to be Amish and what it means to grow up. From getting a new teacher to welcoming a new sibling, Lily's life is always full of adventure.

    The first of four charming novels that chronicle the gentle way of the Amish through the eyes of a young girl, Life with Lily gives children ages 8-12 a fascinating glimpse into the life of the Amish--and lots of fun and laughter along the way. It combines the real-life stories of growing up Amish from Mary Ann Kinsinger and the bestselling writing of Amish fiction and nonfiction author Suzanne Woods Fisher. With charming illustrations throughout, this series is sure to capture the hearts of readers young and old.
    My Review:
    I really enjoyed reading this middle grade Amish book. It will not appeal to all though. The most likely audience to me is homeschooled girls. Younger kids are going to need help reading it because of the length. Lily is a great heroine. She is not perfect. There are several life lessons that can be learned from this book including forgivness and how to get along with others. Lily faces many of the same things that regular kids face on a daily basis including a mean teacher, a fellow student who gets her in trouble, sick family, and moving. The writing is good and character development. I am glad to hear this is a series. I look forward to more of Lily's adventures. Recommended.

    About the authors:
    Mary Ann Kinsinger was raised Old Order Amish in Somerset County, Pennsylvania. She met and married her husband, whom she knew from school days and started a family. After they chose to leave the Amish church, Mary Ann began a blog, A Joyful Chaos, as a way to capture her warm memories of her childhood for her own children. From the start, this blog found a ready audience and even captured the attention of key media players, such as the influential blog AmishAmerica and the New York Times. She lives in Pennsylvania.

    Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of The Choice, The Waiting, The Search, The Keeper, and The Haven, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, W. D. Benedict, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Christy Award nominee and is the host of an internet radio show called Amish Wisdom. She lives in California.
    Available now wherever Revell/Baker books are sold.
    Thank you Donna at Revell for my review copy.

    No comments:

    Classics Club Spin 18

    My Classics Club Spin List for August This is a hodgepodge of books left on my list I made in 2017 for the Classics Club. Tomorrow the clu...